Skip to content

[Bug]: Autofill “Share label” and “Set password” fields when editing a shared link #44451

Closed

Description

@urfin73

⚠️ This issue respects the following points: ⚠️

Bug description

In nextcloud version 28.0.3, I discovered an unpleasant feature when editing custom permissions for a shared link.
The “Link name” and “Set password” fields are filled in automatically and are taken from the nextcloud user name and password saved by the browser.

Steps to reproduce

  1. The shared link is configured to "Always ask for password"
  2. Create new share link for file or folder (We do not specify “Link name”)
  3. Select edit Custom permissions" for this link
  4. The “Link name” and “Set password” fields are filled in automatically and are taken from the nextcloud user name and password saved by the browser.

Expected behavior

The “Link name” and “Set password” fields must be empty

Installation method

Community Docker image

Nextcloud Server version

28

Operating system

Debian/Ubuntu

PHP engine version

None

Web server

None

Database engine version

None

Is this bug present after an update or on a fresh install?

None

Are you using the Nextcloud Server Encryption module?

Encryption is Disabled

What user-backends are you using?

  • Default user-backend (database)
  • LDAP/ Active Directory
  • SSO - SAML
  • Other

Configuration report

No response

List of activated Apps

No response

Nextcloud Signing status

No response

Nextcloud Logs

No response

Additional info

No response

Activity

  1. added
    0. Needs triagePending check for reproducibility or if it fits our roadmap
    on Mar 25, 2024
  2. shk3bq4d commented on Mar 26, 2024

    @shk3bq4d

    Hello, I upgraded yesterday from 26.0.12 to 27.1.7 and have since witnessed the exact same problem.

  3. Flow-Gee commented on Mar 27, 2024

    @Flow-Gee

    I also have this annoying bug in version 28.0.3 using Microsoft Edge Version 122.0.2365.92

    Every time I enter the edit view of a share with "Custom Permissions" MS Edge auto fills and therefore overwrites the share's password with the Nextcloud user password:
    image

  4. rrroig commented on Mar 29, 2024

    @rrroig

    Same here. Annoying bug. Too much JavaScript... Please keep it simple.

  5. susnux commented on Mar 29, 2024

    @susnux
    Contributor

    What you see there is not Nextcloud filling out the fields but your browser from the saved passwords, not much we can do there.

  6. urfin73 commented on Mar 29, 2024

    @urfin73
    Author

    мало что мы там можем сделать

    I will, of course, turn off autofill. But there are many users, such as accountants, managers. What should we do with them?

  7. urfin73 commented on Mar 29, 2024

    @urfin73
    Author

    Is it possible to name the input fields differently, without using the words “label” and “password”, so that the browser does not use autofill?

  8. susnux commented on Mar 29, 2024

    @susnux
    Contributor

    I pushed a fixed waiting for reviews in #44575 :)

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions