Skip to content

File Delete Confirmation Dialog #32011

Description

@HaziFlorinMarian

Is your feature request related to a problem? Please describe.
When we right-click on the files we have the last two options from the "Download" and "Delete" list. It is very common for our users to click "Delete" instead of "Download" and the files are deleted directly.

Describe the solution you'd like
When we click on "Delete" a popup window will open asking us to confirm if we really want to delete.

Describe alternatives you've considered
The "Download" and "Delete" buttons are no longer below each other.

Additional context
It's not necessary.

Activity

  1. szaimen commented on Apr 19, 2022

    @szaimen
    Contributor
  2. killerbees19 commented on Jul 6, 2022

    @killerbees19

    A confirmation dialog is as much more important if files_versions app is disabled!

    Please implement such a feature at minimum as optional (configurable) setting.

  3. giang13297 commented on Sep 15, 2022

    @giang13297

    Hi Guys,
    Any update for this feature.
    Please!!!!

  4. delacosta456 commented on May 8, 2023

    @delacosta456

    hi
    i also want to request for this feature and mention that people have also requested for it on forums.
    Is it also possible to rename the title of this feature request to something like "Confirmation Dialog for files & folder deletion"
    Thanks

  5. nimishavijay commented on May 8, 2023

    @nimishavijay
    Member

    Interesting problem! One Drive and Dropbox have a confirmation dialogue for deleting files too. However, it seems intrusive to show a confirmation dialogue every time a file is deleted, since deletion is a common action. There is also a trash bin from which files can be recovered.

    We could definitely move the "Download" action up. Another solution is to have a notification with an undo button, similar to sending a message in Mail. This is also the behaviour for Google Drive. So a notification Design review.md has been deleted. [Undo]. This would be my preferred solution as it is not as intrusive, and still offers a way to quickly cancel deletion if it was by mistake. What do you think? cc @jancborchardt and @szaimen as well

  6. szaimen commented on May 8, 2023

    @szaimen
    Contributor

    @nimishavijay I agrees that an undo popup would be the preferred solution in that case since showing a popup might be too intrusive and slow and as you said we have the trashbin for this case.

    However maybe there could be a differentiation between folders and files? So that to show the popup for folders and/or if multi-selecting and then clicking on the delete option?

  7. killerbees19 commented on May 8, 2023

    @killerbees19

    There is also a trash bin from which files can be recovered.

    In some cases this feature is disabled, because it's nearly incompatible with external files storage and big files. (See #14436 or #18396)

  8. delacosta456 commented on May 9, 2023

    @delacosta456

    hi @nimishavijay intrusive... truly and if your are talking about deleting multiple files, selecting concerned files/folder with check box method(already present) could present a single confirmation box about select items.
    Also, i think Gmail has a setting to configure (enable) "Confirm before deleting.." may be implementing this (if possible) could let the user decide what is comfortable .

  9. skjnldsv commented on Jan 2, 2024

    @skjnldsv
    Member

    @nimishavijay @szaimen @jancborchardt
    What about showing a confirm if you are deleting more than one file ?

    That would be a sane compromise to move that issue forward I think? :)

  10. szaimen commented on Jan 3, 2024

    @szaimen
    Contributor

    @nimishavijay @szaimen @jancborchardt What about showing a confirm if you are deleting more than one file ?

    That would be a sane compromise to move that issue forward I think? :)

    Yes, sounds like a good solution to me :)

  11. 40 remaining items

  12. locked as resolved and limited conversation to collaborators on Jun 28, 2025
  13. added and removed
    1. to developAccepted and waiting to be taken care of
    on Jul 10, 2025
  14. skjnldsv commented on Jul 10, 2025

    @skjnldsv
    Member
  15. moved this from In progress to Done in Files to vueon Jul 14, 2025
Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

Type

Projects

Milestone

Relationships

None yet

Development

No branches or pull requests

Issue actions