You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
{{ message }}
Repository navigation
Whole snapshot chain is lost when the latest snapshot is deleted #9446
When deleting a snapshot on XenServer, all of its parents will be erased, causing data loss.
STEPS TO REPRODUCE
1. Create a VM
2. Take a volume snapshot (S1).
3. Access the VM and write some data, for example with: dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=1M count=1000
4. Use sync to make sure data is written to disk
5. Take a second volume snapshot (S2).
6. Delete the last volume snapshot (S2).
EXPECTED RESULTS
Only the last volume snapshot (S2) is deleted.
ACTUAL RESULTS
On the UI, only the last volume snapshot (S2) is deleted. However, actually, the whole snapshot chain is deleted (S2 AND S1). This can be verified directly on storage or through the snapshot_store_ref table. Any operation with the deleted snapshot (S1) will fail.
Activity
yadvr commentedon Jul 26, 2024
@JoaoJandre do you know if this was a regression in 4.19(.1) or did it happen also with earlier versions?
JoaoJandre commentedon Jul 26, 2024
@rohityadavcloud this regression was introduced in 4.19.0.0 (#7873)
Fix snapshot chain being deleted on XenServer (#9447)
[4.19] server, api, ui: access improvements and assorted fixes (#22)
[4.19] server, api, ui: access improvements and assorted fixes (#22)
Fix snapshot chain being deleted on XenServer (apache#9447)
[4.19] server, api, ui: access improvements and assorted fixes (#22)